How do you solve a problem like Sophia?

It’s so interesting having a child like Sophia. Everyone that knows her knows she is who she is. The teachers at the school (the ones who don’t even have her) know. The principal asked her if she was going to be ‘interesting again’ one day as she walks up with a stick in her mouth. People have conceded that they may or may not get a response out of her when they speak to her, and if you’re her best friend one day, she might ignore you the next. This is just… Sophia.

When her kindy teacher approached me after a few weeks of going there, asking me if she had hearing and speech issues, I had to physically keep myself from bursting out laughing and tell her that no, she hears quite well, she just chooses not to listen.

Now, I am probably getting ahead of myself, considering she is only four still, but I have this feeling that this, her special-ness, is mostly just a part of her personality.  Her stubborn-ness and individualism and the trickiness we have to deal with is all a part of the big, big picture, and I’m pretty sure that when I write about her in ten years time, not that much will have changed. Of course, the behaviours that are bad and inappropriate we try to get rid of of course, but you see, it can be quite tricky at times. And by quite, it means I sometimes see my hair falling out as I rush to stop her from doing something I told her a thousand times not to do, and she doesn’t even care – and I think quietly to myself ‘I do not believe in violence, I do not believe in violence’ because if I did, she’d probably be getting it. But I am still glad and thankful I don’t though:)

The trouble with Sophia (much like Maria in Sound of Music, if you didn’t get the reference:)) is that she’s not nasty and bad and rude or stupid. She can be naughty and not follow the rules, but she just does things differently and has so much love for so many things and people in her life and she is very clever and super-caring. I don’t like saying she is badly behaved because I truly don’t think that’s what she is either. (And you guys might disagree with me) She is challenging, hard to deal with at times and – as the principal said – interesting. I reckon she’ll give her teachers challenges too, but I think once they get to understand her and her different ways of being herself, she’ll thrive!

There are people who only get to see her challenging side though, but obviously I get to see the whole girl – always, so I know that she has so much goodness in her, an enormous amount of playfulness, and a super smart head to tackle challenges.

I get to hear her sing and laugh and watch her dance and build and see her talk to the baby and help out in the kitchen. She is always the first one to come running to help, and when something new is being taught, she often gets it more than her oldest sister, three times her age!

Like today, when we took their boat out. Simon got a hold of this tiny dinghy for the girls a while back but have been unable to find a motor for it. With the queens birthday and all, and everything finally working, we jumped in the car and drove to Port Julia to test it for the first time. Sophia got to steer it, and her technique was almost perfected immediately. Steady on, through the water, turning nicely, no being silly – she just really did an awesome job. The others, not as good.


So this is Sophia. She is great at all the things she puts her mind to, but only herself will decide to actually do it – we can’t force her! I love her special features and her interesting way of being, normal is boring, right?:)

Xxx,

Line 

Please leave a Comment - I love comments!

