Studious

“What do you do with a B.A. in English? What is my life going to be?

Four years of college, and plenty of knowledge has earnt me this useless degree…

I can’t pay my bills yet, ‘cause I’ve got no skills yet.

The worlds is a big, scary place!

But somehow I can’t shake the feeling I might make

A difference to the human race!”

These are the opening lines of one of the songs from a musical called Avenue Q, (which I really wished I had seen when I was in NY!) one of which I have never seen, but still know all the songs…:P

 

A few posts ago, I wrote that I have started my studies again finally, and I am very excited! If you had told me six or seven years ago that I would be starting a Bachelor of Arts and studying English literature, I would have laughed in your face. It’s not that there is anything wrong with it, it is just that the idea of reading massive works from the infamous authors who lived centuries ago is, mildly put, intimidating and seems like hard work! I love reading books, but I tend to steer more towards thrillers and fantasy more than the classics. The books that I “have always intended to read” just might make it to my bookshelf, but from there and onto my bedside table and even further, into my mind, there is a big step. Despite my non-existing inclination to pick up these books out of my own, free will – that is exactly where I am at now. It is not the only thing I will be studying though. Once I have done enough units on this bachelor, my plan is to transfer to a Bachelor of Education. I wasn’t able to do that straight away because I haven’t gone to school in Australia… Yay me! It is okay though, heaps of the units are the same, so I would have been doing them anyway!

Now my days are spent reading Shakespeare, Austen and Poe – among other ones. I am actually quite enjoying it though, although I need to really use all the tiny little brain cells in order to understand it all. But life would be boring without challenges, right?

This means that life is just a tad busier than what it used to be, but I will end up smarter on the other side! Possibly…:p I have my first assignment due Monday, and I am off to a great start as I am pretty much finished with the whole essay and just need to format and fix it and make sure I’ve used proper referencing. Which is just the bureaucracy of it, really.

Due to the essay being written and worked on this week, I have not started any new challenge this week, as it would just put more pressure on myself – and I don’t need it in a week like this. I’ll bring it back next week though:)

So I present to you, myself as an English Literature student! Wish me luck!

Xxx,

Line

Please leave a Comment - I love comments!

