Mem’ries

As I have mentioned before, I use this blog for many reasons. I like to use it to keep in touch with family and friends around the world, I use it as a literary outlet -somewhere to write down the things I need to get out of my system and I use it to improve my written English. Another reason, and just as important, is using it as a memory bank, a journal in a way. I often go back a few years and look at photos and read the entries and remember the little things I may have forgotten.

I thought I had done splendidly in the last challenge I made for myself, then upon counting all the entries (that had to be 20) I only got to 14 or 15… So that’s pretty poor. And I failed. So that’s a total of $40 for the JDRF walk!

For this fortnight (and I am already a week late) I figured I’d make some posts about some things that are here, that I can never find or that I don’t have in Australia that awake special memories for me – seeing I am here in my childhood home and there are loads of things around. I’ll set the number at five – as I also have started my studies! More on that in my next post.

The first memory I’ll share now, is one about what some might call an ‘unusual’ decoration in a household, that is – our stuffed Owl!


Ever since I was little, we have had this massive Owl hanging in our home. My bedroom was upstairs in our house, and she used to hang on the wall above the staircase, so I would always see her going up and down. I have rarely touched her, mostly because she is out of reach, but also because you just don’t touch animals like that.

Her presence has always been something of a need in this house, and I think it would feel very different without her. I have laid claim on her – so when the day comes and we are to divide things among us kids, she will be mine.

The story of how she came into our possession is quite funny,  but a family story. I can tell you she is quite old though, and that she flew into a power-line and died before someone had her taxidermied, probably over fifty years ago. She is gorgeous, and has an intense stare. I always imagined her coming alive at night and fly around the house – and I felt as she was a guardian of our home. Now she resides in our dining room and still watches over us.

The Hubro (its Norwegian name) has the English name ‘Eurasian Eagle-Owl'(and Latin Bubo bubo) and exist in all of Eurasia. In Norway it is classified as endangered, and there are only 5-600 pairs of this beautiful fowl left. It is the biggest owl of all in Europe, and can get up to 4 kg and 75 cm tall. I’m not sure how large ours is, but she is pretty huge.

I love my owl:D

Xxx,

Line

Please leave a Comment - I love comments!

