Oh, it’s such a perfect day.

You know, once in a while a day comes around that is full of sunshine and rainbows and candy-corn pooping unicorns and you basically can’t fault it. I mean, there are a lot of days that are ‘normal’ days where everything is as it should, but some days are more than normal and they turn in to a spectacular day just because. Today has been such a good day for our family.

We started out with plans for breakfast with some friends whom we haven’t seen for a while, they are due to have their first baby very soon, so catching up with them before that was just great. We were in doubt if we were able to make it there in time, with getting everyone ready to go for the whole day, as we weren’t going back until late, but we made it out of the house, everyone dressed and the children fed with all our necessities in tow – without a rush. 10 points right there! In addition to that, the food was yummy, the company was great and the children were very well behaved. It ended up lasting two whole hours, which is way too much for most kids, so I was very proud of them today.

One of the absolute best parts of the day was the phone call I received on the way there, though. I got a call from my best friend asking me a very important question, which left me teary and honoured and very happy! What an awesome way to start the day!

After the breakfast, we decided to go to IKEA. The great part about IKEA here is that they have a massive hardware store right next to it, so we go there and go our separate ways, Simon and I. He took Sophia and I had Melodie and Ricky. With no queue to the play area, Mel got to go there while Ricky and I walked around taking photos of things and picking up some bits and pieces. Somehow we buy a pack of kids’ cups and cutlery every month or so, because they just disappear! But they are so cheap it doesn’t matter. We picked Melodie up before we paid, then went on to get some food stuffs. $1 hot dogs and a few Scandinavian lollies later, and we went to the car at the same time as Simon and Sophia rocked up. Great timing!

So far Melodies blood sugar levels had been great, and all the kids were happy and content.

The next part of our day was picking up Jasmine. Normally we pick her up Friday, but she was invited to a sleep over, and we couldn’t say no to that. The girls love it when she comes and Ricky even ends up laughing so much she cries (and no, that is not an exaggeration).

We had to stop at a shop to get some throat lollies for our sickling Melodie (who has an ever so slight cold), and I had a look at some clothes while I was in there. I had a voucher that I needed to spend, and was thrilled when I found four things in my size that I liked (with three of them reduced in price). I came back to the car and showed Simon, and he was impressed as well. I didn’t get to try them on until we came home, though, but when I did, they all fit really well, and I was even happier! Considering they cost a total of $41, I think I did pretty well!

Jeans, training shorts and top plus a dress? Liked.

Jeans, training shorts and top plus a dress? Liked.

Being on that side of the city, we popped in to see Simons’ brother as well. We haven’t seen them for a while, and the girls’ love their cousin, so we knew that would be a hit. We stayed there for a chat and for the kids to have a play together, while we made plans for the next catch-up.

On the way home, we pulled up to the beach to watch the sun go down. Simon and I parked the car next to the beach and we left the kids in the car while enjoying a quiet moment together while seeing the sunset. We often do this when we are at the beach, as it is where we fell in love and it is one of the rare moments we get to be alone together. We do still have the kids sitting in the car, watching us, being literally meters away, but having only the sounds of the ocean around us calms us down for a moment.

IMG_2539[1]

We arrived home just in time for dinner. Not so late so that the kids were hungry and tired and annoying, but not so early so we felt we could have gotten more out of the day. Just perfect! All kids are now sound asleep, and they fell asleep quickly as well.

I don’t know what made today such a good day, except well-behaved kids, good company and catch-ups, beautiful weather and a little shopping trip to our favourite places. Grabbing some bargains here and there and just enjoying the little things made the day even better! It just goes to show that you can have it all, sometimes, and that you don’t need extravagant plans and an outpouring of money to have a perfect family day. Give me more days like these, please!

Xxx,

Line

Please leave a Comment - I love comments!

