Foodie Friday – Pumpkinana Pancakes

Do you ever have a really bad day where you just feel like crying, for no particular reason? I do. Not very often, though.

I had one this week. You see, the seventeenth of May is our national holiday, and there is no day of the year where I feel more Norwegian, more foreign and more proud of my country – all at the same time. Being on the other side of the planet can then make me feel very, VERY homesick, more than at Christmas and birthdays and all other holidays. I had a great day with the kids, though, don’t get me wrong – they loved it and we had beautiful weather and it was just great.

But then, the day after, it hit me as this sadness. I just needed to cry a little. As I did, Ricky came over to wipe my tears with a paint brush. As you do. I wanted to go back to bed and just stay there for a bit. (Don’t worry, I am totally fine, and I can’t remember when I last had anything like that, so there is no need for any worrying!) Simon came home early from work to do some studying, so I could allow myself to do just that – stay under the covers.

I could have, but I then couldn’t. I am very lucky, because there is one thing that always makes me feel better. Cooking and baking. Let’s call it my special occupational therapy. It always helps, no matter what. So that is what I did. By the evening, I felt a thousand times better, and we had a batch of ‘Pumpkinana pancakes’ ready for breakfast and school lunches for the next few weeks. Score! And since it was such a success with the kiddos, I thought I’d share it.

Pumpkinana Pancakes.

(I got 28 small pancakes out of this recipe.)

1 banana (instead of refined sugar, but use any sweetener you like)

2,5 cups of steamed pumpkin

4 eggs

2 teaspoons of baking soda

1 cup milk

3 cups wholemeal flour

(great recipe to change into dairy and gluten free, if that is needed.)

  • Mash the banana and pumpkin together. If you like lumps, leave some lumps, if you don’t, mash until you’re happy.
  • Mix in the rest of the ingredients until it’s all combined.
  • Heat a frypan, use butter or your preferred ‘frying ingredient’
  • Make tablespoon-sized pancakes, fry them on both sides until cooked through. Try not to burn them, as I did with a fewJ.
  • Enjoy as they are, or with any toppings you’d like. I’ve frozen half of mine to use in Melodies school lunches.
      

There you have it, a nice breakfast or lunch, with vegetables they don’t even know about! A pancake is a cake, after all – and all my little ones loved them. If you don’t like them cold, you can just pop them in the microwave or fry them a bit more and they’re as good as fresh (almost.). And best of all – no sugar! Mine worked out to be about 10-12 grams of carbohydrates per pancake.

I do want to say here at the end that if you ever, ever feel like I did, not really wanting to get out of bed or do anything and the sadness just follows you around – try to find something that makes you feel good! I also play the piano, sing or go for a walk. It helps! Any if it doesn’t – talk to somebody! There is someone that loves you and wants you to feel better (Even if it’s just for one day!).

Xxx,

Line

2 thoughts on “Foodie Friday – Pumpkinana Pancakes

Please leave a Comment - I love comments!

