Thoughtful Tuesday: Did you always want to be a mother?

Mothers day has come and gone and it was a lovely day for us. I love my children more than anything and more than I thought possible. I can not imagine life without them!

A few months ago I was asked this question, and it has since made me think. Did I always want to be a mum?

The question was asked by someone who were unfortunate and never ended up having children. She is a beautiful lady and although she wanted a child and tried – it just wasn’t meant to be for them.

The very short answer is No. I was never the one that fantasized about my little girls and boys and what their names would be, how they’d look and what they would be like. I never saw myself as a mother at all. Not because I figured I never wanted children at all, but I was just to young to see myself as anything in the future. If you asked me ten years ago where I’d be now, married with three children would probably not even be on the list of possibilities. I always just figured I might end up meeting someone at the age of thirty and then maybe children would come after that.

I had friends that did, though. They would talk about kids in the future, the amount of kids they wanted, whether they wanted boys or girls – how they’d set up the baby’s room and other things. I just was never ‘there.’

There is not a day that goes by where I look at my children without appreciating them and thinking ‘How did I end up so lucky? Why am I so blessed? What did I do to deserve such perfection? ‘

I have an adoring husband who is the greatest dad to his girls, he loves them more than you could ever imagine and he just enjoys spending time with them every day. We often watch our children sleep at night, and we feel the love for them and each other grow as we listen to their sleep noises. I know that I have got something many people don’t get to have, and I wouldn’t want to be without.

Although I never pictured this life, I cannot possibly picture how it would be if I didn’t have this – and I am so thankful it ended up this way. Did I always want to be a mother? No. Do I ever want to stop? Oh, never.

When did you know you wanted to be a mum? (Or dad?)

Xxx,

Line

Please leave a Comment - I love comments!

