The Weekend Tip – Frozen milk

I discovered Friday night that I had two 3-liters of milk still in the fridge about to expire the day after. In addition to the one that was opened already, this meant I had to get rid of about seven litres of milk in two days. We drink milk, but not THAT much. Apparently, when I went shopping, I forgot to consider Simon not being here for most of the fortnight, which was quite silly.

I decided on having Norwegian porridge for dinner tonight, as that uses a lot of milk. But still, I had six litres sitting there, with its Bambi eyes, begging me to find a use for them so they didn’t go down the drain.

The solution was of course to freeze it. Milk freezes well, so I see no reason to chuck it out. My suggestion is to freeze it in different quantities. I ended up with two 1-litre containers, three 500 ml containers and four 250 ml containers. This way I won’t have to waste much when thawed, in case I only needed a little.

You may wonder what to do with it, though, after it has been frozen. Some people don’t mind drinking it, but I do. But it is excellent for any cooking! Here are some of my suggestions:

  • Pancakes or pikelets
  • Bread
  • Waffles
  • Porridge
  • Bechamel sauce
  • Cakes
  • Panna Cotta
  • Homemade Yoghurt
  • Puddings
  • Cheese (like ricotta)

We waste so much food and milk, so anything to keep it from going in the bin! Even if it just a cup, then you have it for some other time. Tonight I am making some smoothie ice-blocks for the girls, and I will be using up some more of the milk then.

Xxx,

Line

Please leave a Comment - I love comments!

