FF: Fiskegrateng

For todays Foodie Friday, I thought I’d actually share a recipe of my own. Now, I don’t actually have ‘my own’ recipes, I just use others and then forget whos they are by the time I have memorized and tweaked them, so if anyone feels this is copied from their own recipe, then you are probably right, and please forgive me.

One of my best friends in NSW and I had something weird and cool in common. I call it weird because it is a very rare thing, which I never expected to find in Australia. You see, she has ties to Norway as well, such an awesome connection!:D

This dish, who is a Norwegian dish, is one that I used to tell her about all the time. It is cheap, easy and relatively healthy (and SO super yummy!). I always intended on writing it down for her so she could make it for her kids and say it is Norwegian, but you know, I suck at those things. So I dedicate this post to my beautiful friend, Jackie!

The great thing about this is you can do it throughout the day, so it is good for someone like me where I may not get a whole hour to cook continuously, but maybe just ten minutes here and there throughout the day.

Fiskegrateng / Norwegian Fish Bake.

(This will feed 8 people. I make this and make one half for dinner and freeze the rest for another time.)

You need:

  • 1 kg fish. (White fish without to strong flavour works best, I usually use Basa.)
  • 500 g. macaroni (preferably wholemeal)
  • 500 g. frozen vegetable mix (or you can chop fresh ones and cook them, but meh – work:P)
  • Butter
  • Flour
  • Milk
  • 3 Eggs
  • Breadcrumbs

How to do it:

  1. Boil lots of water in a rather large saucepan. Just before it boils, put the fish in and turn it down a little, so it just simmers. Check the fish after about 15 minutes, if it comes apart when you try to pick it up, then it is finished. If not, wait a little bit longer. When it is done, remove the fish from the water and set aside. You can drain it if you want, but reserve some (about 1 liter) of the liquid it cooked in.
  2. Boil the macaroni, drain and set aside. You can put it in the same container as the fish, they are going to be together in the end anyway.
  3. Now, if you want to, you can get the frozen vegies out and mix it in with the fish and macaroni. Or put it on top. Or separately. We use the corn, carrot and peas mix as they are small pieces for the kids.
  4. This is the absolutely trickiest part of the cooking – making the white sauce. If you know how to make a bechamel sauce, you are in luck, as this is the same. If not, here it is. Take your butter (I think I’d use about 50-60 grams) and put it in a thick-bottomed saucepan to melt it. When it has melted, pour in an equal amount of plain flour and whisk it together. It will turn into a paste. Whisk for a few minutes, then pour in some milk. I haven’t put amounts up in the ingredients list as I actually never know how much I use! Turn down your hotplate to medium, and keep whisking. It will thicken. Start pouring in a ladleful of the reserved fish liquid into the sauce, and keep whisking. From now, alternate the liquids until you think it is thick enough. I always like it rather thick, but make it the way you like it. I also usually use more of the fish liquid than the milk (it saves both calories and money, but doesn’t make any difference in the flavour).
  5. When you think the sauce has reached the desired thickness, crack your eggs in, one by one, and whisk like crazy! The eggs are there to set the bake when it cooks in the oven. Add salt and pepper to taste, I usually also add some nutmeg.
  6. Next step, start putting your fish, macaroni and vegies into the sauce and mix it. The fish should break up while it is being mixed, so you won’t need to chop it up. Once it is all mixed up, pour the mixture into a baking dish. I use a deep dish, but any oven proof dish will do.
  7. Sprinkle the top of the bake with breadcrumbs and pat it down a little. If dinner is a while away, you can put it in the fridge until you are ready to cook it.
  8. Cook it in the oven at 180 degrees for about 40 minutes. If it was cold in the fridge, I would add 5 minutes or so. If unsure, just check that it is hot through in the middle of the bake.

Photos, not exactly good, but.

PicMonkey1

PicMonkey Collage7

We would normally serve it with boiled potatoes and extra vegies on the side. The best part is to melt some butter and pour it over the bake. Not very healthy, but very yummy!

(I am in no way a trained chef or nutritional expert or anything where I can remotely claim to be an expert in anything with food. This is just my method and recipe… Take it for what it is..:))

Xxx,

Line

2 thoughts on “FF: Fiskegrateng

Please leave a Comment - I love comments!

